4x4 Overland Travel
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
*Welcome to 4x4 Overland Travel! The Community Resource for 4x4's, Overland Travel, Touring, Green Laning & All kinds of Expedition Vehicles! Guests, "Register" for FREE and join our Community*
Bought a Product or Accessories recently? - Got something to say about it? - Leave a Review in the "Review" section.

Saying hello...

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Tembo
Articulating
Articulating
Tembo

Saying hello... Empty
PostSubject: Saying hello...   Saying hello... EmptyFri Sep 28, 2012 8:42 pm

Just joined the forum and wanted to say hello to all. I have been overlanding off and on for about 12 years now and hope to do alot more in the future. My wife and I are based Milton Keynes area and moved to the UK about a year ago. I am Canadian and she is British by birth but lived in New Zealand for a long time.

I grew up bashing around in jeeps in Canada and then spent ten years in Africa after a military career. Since there were no old jeeps to be found in Africa I started buying old Landrovers. So have bashed around most of east and southern Africa in a string of series 11s, IIIs, defenders and even an ex-Zimbabwe Police Santana. Also spent a year and half in Sierra Leone with an old 110. Did some great trips and had some fun adventures.

Finally settled on what I hope is my 'last' Landrover and by perfect overlander. We were in Canada in 2011 when an 1986 ex-MOD 110 was put up for sale by a collector. It had been a range control vehicle at C.F.B. Suffield until it was disposed of. Some collector had it in storage since 2003 and put it up for sale. I bought it and then shipped it with us over here to the UK when my wife took a job in MK (and her company paid the shipping).